How to Stop Getting Spam on Google Drive

Want to protect your Google Drive against spam? If yes, you have landed on the right webpage. In this article, we are going to share a detailed guide on how to protect against getting spam on Google Drive.

So, without any further ado, let’s get started –

How to Stop Getting Spam on Google Drive

It is quite simple and easy to share a file with someone on Google Drive. All you need to have is their email ID, and you can share any Google Drive file with them even without their permission.

Even though this makes it quite easy to collaborate and share files online, this also invites spammers and hackers who want to steal your data.

Earlier, there was no option to protect your Google Drive against spam except to delete those spammy files. But Google Drive has taken this thing very seriously and has introduced a bunch of features that you can use to protect your Google Drive from spammers.

For example, now you can block the spammers from sharing files with you. Along with that, we also recommend reporting the spammer so that Google Drive can take some serious actions against him.

If you are dealing with such spammers, follow the below-mentioned guide.

How to Report Spam on Google Drive using a PC

The process to stop getting spam on Google Drive involves reporting the spammers using a PC. All you have to do is follow these simple steps –

  • Go to drive.google.com.
  • From the left navigation pane, click on the Shared with Me option.
  • Now, locate the file that you think is spam and right-click on it.
  • From the menu, click on the Report Abuse option. This will allow you to report that file to the Google security system, and after examining it, they will take strict actions against the file or file owner.
Stop Getting Spam on Google Drive
  • This will open a new tab where you have to specify what sort of policy violation that file does. Simply select the Spam option and click on the Submit report button.

That’s it. You have successfully reported the file. Google may take a couple of days to examine that file and that user’s profile. In the meantime, you can block that user so that he will not be able to send you more spam files.

Read How to Share a Folder On Google Drive

How to Block Spammers on Google Drive using a PC

Another method you can try to stop getting spam on Google Drive involves blocking those spammers for good. Here are the steps you can follow to do the same.

  • Open drive.google.com
  • From the left navigation pane, select the Shared with Me option.
  • Now, you have to locate the file that the spammer has shared with you and click right on it.
  • You have to click on the Block [email protected] option from the options menu.
  • A pop-up box will appear that will ask you to confirm if you surely want to block that user. Click the Block button.

That’s it. This person will no longer be able to interact with you.

However, the problem here is that when you report a file for spam, you will no longer be able to access that file. This means if that spammer has shared only one file with you, you will not be able to block him. We recommend you block the spammer in such a scenario instead of reporting the file.

Read How to Share Google Drive links on WhatsApp

How to Report Spam on Google Drive on a Smartphone

Reporting spam on Google Drive on a smartphone is as simple as reporting it on a PC. However, the steps are a bit different.

You can follow the steps mentioned below to report a spam file on Google Drive on a smartphone –

  • Launch the Google Drive application on your smartphone.
  • Tap on the Shared tab. It will show you the list of the files that others have shared with you.
  • Scroll down and locate the file you think is spam, and long press on it to select the file.
  • Once the file is selected, the three-dot menu option will appear at the top right corner of your screen. Tap on it.
  • It will open a bunch of options for you. Select the Report abuse option.
  • It will take you to a page where you have to specify what sort of violation this file is making. Select the spam, malware, or phishing option and tap on the Submit button.

That’s it. Doing this will report the file to the Google security system, and after examining the file, Google Drive will take appropriate actions.

Once you have reported the spam file, it is time to block that user so that the user cannot send you spam anymore.

Read How to recover deleted shared files on Google Drive?

How to Block Spammers on Google Drive on a Smartphone

  • Launch the Google Drive application on your smartphone.
  • Tap on the Shared tab to see all the files those other users have shared with you.
  • Locate the file and tap on the three-dot icon located at the top right of the file.
  • A menu will appear. Select the Block [email protected] option.
  • A pop-up box will appear to confirm if you really want to block this user. Tap on the blue Block button.

That’s it. You have now successfully reported and blocked the spammer.

Read How To Share Google Drive Folders With Non-Gmail Users

How to Unblock Someone on Google Drive

Now, what if you have accidentally blocked someone who isn’t a spammer? Well, you can easily unblock them by following these simple steps –

  • Open drive.google.com
  • Click on your profile picture located at the top right corner of your screen.
  • Now, click on the Manage your Google Account option.
  • It will take you to a new page. Here, you will see the People & sharing option located at the left navigation pane. Click on it.
  • Under the Contacts option, you will see the Blocked option. Click on it.
How to Unblock Someone on Google Drive
  • This will take you to the page where you can see a list of people you’ve blocked. Simply click on the cross (x) icon beside the user email ID that you want to unblock.

That’s it. It will unblock that user, and you’ll be able to share and receive files from him. Unblocking a user on the Google Drive smartphone application is quite similar.

1. Can other users get notified when you block or unblock them?

No. Those users will not get notified if you block or unblock them. However, if they are sharing a file with you, they will receive a notification saying that they can no longer share that file with you.

2. What happens to files that a user has shared with you after blocking them?

After blocking a user, all of the files he has shared with you will be deleted for you. So, if that user has shared any important file with you, make a backup of that file before you block them.

3. Is the blocking feature limited to Google Drive only?

Nope. When you block someone on Google Drive. That person will not be able to communicate through any other services offered by Google, such as Gmail, Google Photos, Docs, Maps, or more.

Read How to Copy a Shared Folder in Google Drive

Closing Comments

There you have it – a detailed guide on how to stop getting spam on Google Drive.

In the past, there were not so many options to deal with spam. The only possible way to protect yourself against spam was to delete the files. However, with time, Google has implemented many new features that you can use to deal with spam files and spammers.

While now you have more ways to deal with spam and spammers, you also need to understand that the files you report will be deleted immediately for you. The same goes with blocking someone.

So, before blocking someone or reporting a file, make sure the file they have shared with you doesn’t contain any important data. And if it does, simply make a copy of the file or download it.

You may like the following Google Drive tutorials: