How to Block Someone on Google Drive in 2021 (Updated)

Scammers are always thinking of new ways to contact you via spam. The process of preventing someone from accessing your Google Drive is simple, as demonstrated here. Moreover, one of the nicest features of Google Drive is the ease with which files and folders can be shared with other users of the service. And also how you can store all your files in one place.

Sadly though, this feature also serves to attract unwanted visitors in the form of spam, malware, and phishing scams. Scammers can send dangerous files that automatically appear in your Google Drive by using the sharing feature in Google Drive. In this article, we’ll look at solutions to the problem.

Because sharing files is so simple, it’s easy to lose track of who you’ve shared documents with and how much access they have. As a result, if somebody has turned sour since you shared stuff with them in Google Drive, it’s better to remove them.

Do you know what happens when you put someone on your Google Drive “Block List?”

Using Google Drive’s simple blocking tool, you can quickly and easily keep out undesired files and folders.

Using the blocking option prevents you from accidentally being included in a previously shared file or folder. You have three options when it comes to blocking someone on Google Drive:

1. Will not share files with that person in the future

Blocking another user from exchanging files with you can be a lifesaver if the individual sends you a lot of spam or is abusive in some other way.

Apart from that, sending files to someone who has been blocked in Google Drive until you unlock them is impossible. So this way you can rest assured that your file which was mistakenly sent to that person won’t be delivered.

2. Eliminate all previously shared files from the server

Whenever you block someone on Google Drive, you would no longer be allowed to retrieve any files and documents they had previously shared with you.

Moreover, spam and other unwanted content can be easily removed this way. You won’t have to deal with them one by one.

3. Block unauthorized access to your data

Similarly, if you block someone in Google Drive, they will no longer be able to access any of the previously shared files. As a result, you can rest assured knowing that any confidential information or personal content you provide will be kept secure.

Read How to Save an Email to Google Drive

How to Block Someone on Google Drive in Android

There are different methods and steps to block someone from Google Drive on different devices. Find below the steps for each type and device

1. Block the file sharer

  • Log in to your Gmail account.
  • Open a Drive sharing email.
  • Tap Block the sender at the email’s end.
  • Now, you may be asked to select an account at the top of the Gmail window.
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

2. Owner of the file should be blocked from accessing the file

  • Open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Click on Menu in the file’s upper-right corner.
  • Look for Email Blocking in the menu and click on it.
  • Tap on Block to close the window when you’re finished.

3. Unblock a Person’s account

  • Open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Tap your profile image in the upper-right corner of the screen, and then select Manage your Google Account from the menu that appears.
  • Blocked may be accessed by tapping People & sharing and then People & sharing.
  • A list of prohibited Google accounts appears.
  • Select Remove from the drop-down menu next to the person’s name.

Read How to Save Word Docs to Google Drive

How to Block Someone on Google Drive on PC

1. To block the file sharer

  • Go to mail.google.com to get started.
  • Create a Drive sharing email and share the drive with others.
  • Click Block the sender at the email’s footer.
Block Someone on Google Drive on PC
  • To create a block on a specific account, open a new tab and pick it.
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

2. Owner of the file should be blocked 

  • Visit Google Drive at drive.google.com.
  • To do a right-click, select a file from your computer’s hard drive.
  • Select Block ’email’ from the drop-down option.
Block on Google Drive
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

3. Unblock a Person’s account

  • Visit Google Drive at drive.google.com.
  • Click on your profile image in the upper-right corner of the screen, and then select Manage your Google Account from the menu that appears.
People & Sharing
  • Select Blocked from the People & Sharing drop-down menu.
Unblock a person on Google Drive
  • A list of prohibited Google accounts appears.
  • Select Remove from the drop-down menu next to the person’s name.

Read How to Turn on Link Sharing on Google Drive

How to Block Someone on Google Drive on on iPhone & iPad

1. Block the file sharer

  • Log in to your Gmail account.
  • Create a Drive sharing email and share the drive with others.
  • Tap Block the sender at the email’s footer.
  • You may be asked to select an account at the top of the Gmail window.
  • Click Block on the window that appears.

2. Owner of the file should be blocked 

  • Firstly open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Tap Menu More in the file’s upper-right corner.
  • Click on Email Blocking in the menu.
  • Now, tap Block to close the window when you’re finished.

3. Unblock a person’s account

  • Open the Drive application on your smartphone or tablet.
  • Tap your profile image in the upper-right corner of the screen, and then select Manage your Google Account from the menu that appears.
  • Blocked may be accessed by tapping People & sharing and then People & sharing.
  • A list of prohibited Google accounts appears.
  • Select Remove from the drop-down menu next to the person’s name.

You can access and manage your blocked list more quickly if you use this method. You may view the people you’ve blocked across Google Apps by visiting your blocked list in your Google account. Click Remove if you want to unblock someone and then you will be able to share files with them.

By being able to ban a user on Google Drive, you can avoid receiving spam, viruses, or other disruptive content.

Also, by blocking access to some Google products, blocked users will be unable to reach you. Furthermore, you’ll be able to live a life free of spam, swindles, and other unpleasantries.

You may like the following Google Drive articles:

Final Verdict

When it comes to Google Drive, sharing files and documents, it’s simple, but not always. You may now stop anyone from sharing or altering files you’ve given them with a simple click if they’re bothering you that way. Moreover, it can avoid any future mishaps as well.

It’s nothing new to share files on Google Drive. As remote employment spreads across the globe, things are only getting better. Because a simple Google Drive shared folder opens up so many collaborative ideas across several disciplines, this is welcome news for us.

It also becomes a lot less complicated. More Google Drive settings can be tweaked to improve your workflow. Spend some time with Google Drive’s collaborative tools, as they are critical to the success of any team project.

Google Drive is an essential tool for remote workers, whether they are working from home or somewhere else. It is definitely beneficial especially in these times when everything is going digital. Furthermore, it gives you a variety of options to edit, share, etc that makes work from home more cohesive and collaborative.